Welcome to the BillionGraves Community! An amazing community of users from every corner of the globe here to help you in your BillionGraves endeavors! Join the movement and connect with others to create the world's largest GPS cemetery database!
Welcome to BillionGraves Q&A, where you can ask questions, receive support, and look at answers from other members of the BillionGraves community.

3,100 questions

4,030 answers

4,360 comments

2,662 users

Has the Request Photo function always had this many bugs, or is this a new development?

2 like 0 dislike
I've just started using BG's Request a Photo function, and am having terrible trouble with it. Because I've never used this function before, I'm unsure whether it always behaves like this and people just put up with it somehow, or whether it has only started malfunctioning.

Summary of my difficulties:

1. A couple of days ago, when I tried it for the first time, I couldn't submit a request at all. I would click the link and nothing would happen.

2. Today it has let me submit requests, but gives an error message every time I try to save. I tried a few times, then gave up. I didn't realise that despite the error message, it was actually saving the request each time, and so it created four identical requests for grave A and two for grave B. I only realised this when different people began responding to each of the duplicate requests.

3. I tried to go in an update each request, to say "sorry about the duplicates, going to delete them all except one", but the Edit function won't work. It takes me to an edit screen, but when I try to save my edited request, it tells me "you can't add a request without a family name". This is wrong because (a) I'm trying to EDIT, not ADD, and (b) the request already HAS a family name! So effectively I cannot edit any requests at all.

So I just went ahead and deleted the duplicates, praying that I wasn't offending the many people who had accepted them.